Sausalito

After my parents split, my dad moved to Marin County, ultimately settling in the artsy, tourist hamlet by the sea of Sausalito.  This meant I would take BART into the city, hop on a ferry and meet Dad on the other side.  Many weekends were spent wandering the streets of Sausalito.  I took photos with my dad’s old Nikon with its cracked lens, meaning a tiny shaft of light penetrated each photograph.  The market on the corner was the stop for basic grocery items and snacks.  I had a library card for the Spanish style library in the park down the street.  The movie theater around the corner showed great indie and foreign flicks.  Down the block was an old gas station where we would go with laundry quarters to buy 25 cent candies.  There were art galleries, tasty ice cream, fish n chips, parks, and a stellar view of the City on the Bay.  Many of those things are still there.  In fact, when Tony & I got married, we stayed at the Hotel Sausalito, took photos around town and departed its harbor on a yacht out to calm waters where we exchanged vows, returning to the dockside restaurant for our post-wedding dinner.  I have a big spot in my heart for this small place and it always delights me to return, even if only for a day.

Leave a comment